Thursday, October 22, 2009

Conference: Call for Papers IX Congress of the European Association for Jewish Studies (EAJS)

Conference: Call for Papers

Section on "Jewish Arts" (no. 13) for the IX Congress of the European Association for Jewish Studies (EAJS)

Ravenna, Italy July 25-29, 2010

Following the announcement of the executive committee of the European Association for Jewish Studies (EAJS), that its next Congress will take place in Ravenna, Italy, July 25-29, 2010, this is an additional call-for-papers for the section on "Jews in the Arts."

The Congress theme is "Judaism in the Mediterranean Context" but proposals dealing with any aspect of Jews and the arts will be considered. "Arts" may be interpreted to as any number of creative expressions-such as music, dance, painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, and film.

The language of the Congress will be English.

Information on the venue, transport and other practical issues will be available on the website ( on or before 1 December 2009.

Proposals for papers (20 minutes + 10 minutes for discussion), with a title and a abstract of no more than 300 words, should be sent to Prof. M Berkowitz ( and to the Congress Secretariat ( by 1 December 2009.

The opening session will be held Sunday afternoon, July 25th 2010, and the conference closes the evening of Thursday July 29th, 2010.


Registration for the Congress will open on 1 December 2009.

Registration costs:
For EAJS members: before 1 Feb 2010: 70 Euro; after 1 Feb 2010: 100 Euro
For non-members: before 1 Feb 2010: 150 Euro; after 1 Feb 2010: 180 Euro

In order to qualify for the lower congress fee for EAJS members, membership subscriptions must be paid up to and including 2010. Members in arrears should pay membership fees from the beginning of their membership or from 2006, whichever is the more recent.

A limited number of small grants will be available on application. To apply for membership of the EAJS, click here:
Instructions on applying for a grant to attend the Congress will appear on the Congress website (

No comments: